Ā mātou tāngata Our people

Mō Mātou | About

Leadership team


Director – Financial Capability

Nick Thomson

I lead a team that develops and delivers financial education for New Zealanders. This involves overseeing the design and innovation of learning strategies to ensure New Zealanders are equipped with the financial knowledge, skills and confidence to make good financial decisions at every stage of their lives.

Director – Marketing

Lyndsey Francis

I lead a team focused on effectively connecting trusted information to New Zealanders across the Sorted and Te Ara Ahunga Ora Retirement Commission programmes and services. We are responsible for understanding our audiences, where to find them and how best to inform and inspire them using technology, data, content and media to enhance our ability to change behaviours and improve financial confidence heading into retirement.

Director – Corporate Services

Nisha Keetels (Ngāti Raukawa, Tūhoe)

I am responsible for leading the core operational functions within Te Ara Ahunga Ora Retirement Commission. I support the Retirement Commissioner by overseeing Finance, Human Resources, IT and the administration functions. My team and I ensure our working environment, culture and operations are effective and comply with best practice. When we do our job well, the rest of the team are more effectively supported to improve the financial wellbeing and capability of all New Zealanders.


Director – Policy

Dr Suzy Morrissey

I lead a team that supports the Retirement Commissioner to shape the Te Ara Ahunga Ora Retirement Commission’s policy and research work and activities. I oversee our research programme, the statutory three-yearly Review of Retirement Income Policies, the National Strategy for Financial Capability, and the statutory role to monitor the effects of the Retirement Villages Act, the Regulations and Code of Practice.

Kaihautū | Director Māori Development

Dr Kathie Irwin (Ngāti Porou, Rakaipaaka, Ngāti Kahungunu)

I help drive improvement in retirement outcomes for Māori by connecting and aligning the Te Ara Ahunga Ora Retirement Commission’s work with related state sector policy streams. My background as a Māori academic in tertiary education, and in senior management and governance for iwi and public sector organisations, enables me to imbue Te Ara Ahunga Ora and its work with te ao Māori so that we champion the Treaty of Waitangi, support diversity and inclusion, and implement Māori strategies to create positive change.


Retired Persons Lead
Dr Michelle Reyers

National Strategy Lead
Rachel Beckett

Research Lead
Dr Celestyna Galicki

Financial Capability

Sorted Website Lead
Kate Reddington

Learning Development Lead
Tista Lythe

Learning Designer – EME
Su Min Ahn

Kaitakawaenga/Learning Designer MME
Marina Kawe-Peautolu (Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāi Tahu)

Learning Development Specialist
Tania Vercoelen 

Project Specialist – Pacific
Liline Hewett

Learning Delivery Lead
Marc Harris

Learning Specialist - Schools
Jill MacDonald

Kaikōkiri/Learning Specialist – Kura
Erin Thompson (Tainui, Te Arawa, Ngāi Tāmanuhiri)

Relationship Specialist – Communities
Ana Tu'inukuafe

Learning Delivery Administrator
Paul Nicolini


Marketing & Content Lead
Kelly Phillips

Digital Marketing Specialist
Hannah Merceanu

Product Marketing Specialist
'Position vacant'

Graphic Designer
Abigail Kerr

Digital Assets Lead
Jason Gambitsis

Data and Analytics Specialist
Tom Maden

Web Administrator
Morgan Martin


Personal Finance Lead
Tom Hartmann

Communications Specialist
Lucinda Haworth

Corporate Services

Finance Lead
Gemma Fulton

People Lead
Kristy Allan

Business Lead
Nick Beard

Assistant Accountant 
Shristi Singh

Governance Administrator
Rebecca Jenner

Business Administrator
Minna Birch